India clean sweep the ODI Series in Sri Lanka, Dhoni and Kohli made records

India clean sweep the ODI Series in Sri Lanka, Dhoni and Kohli made records- On Sunday night, Sri Lanka continues his defeat in the last match of the series. India defeated Sri Lanka in 5th ODI by 6 wickets at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. Sri Lanka has won the toss and chose to bat first and scored 238 runs in 49.4 overs loosing 10 wickets. While India set for 239. India chased the target in 46.3 overs loosing 4 wickets. India has won the series by 5-0.

Jasprit Bumrah won the Man of the Series trophy while Bhuvneshwar Kumar selected for Man of the Match trophy for his fifer.

Virat Kohli struck his 30th ODI century in the match and only batsman who scored more than hundred. Another side Bhuvneshwar Kumar also picked his maiden five-wicket haul to lead India to a sweep in the One-day International series against Sri Lanka on Sunday.

Virat Kohli’s equaled his number of centauries with second in the all-time list with Australia’s Ricky Ponting. Now only Sachin Tendulkar with 49 centuries is ahead of him.

Kohli also became the first batsman to complete 1,000 ODI runs for 2017.

Virat Kohli shared in a 99-run third wicket partnership with Manish Pandey (36) and shared in a 109–run fourth wicket partnership with Kedar Jadhav.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar grabbed his maiden five-wicket ODI haul and dashed Sri Lankan hopes.

Dhoni’S own Century

Former Indian Captain and wicket keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni created history on Sunday during the fifth ODI versus Sri Lanka in Colombo as he became the first wicketkeeper in ODI history to complete a record 100 stumpings as a wicketkeeper. MS Dhoni is in great form with bat as well as gloves. Dhoni achieved the record when he stumped Akila Dananjaya on leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. Dhoni reached the landmark during the 45th over of the Sri Lankan innings. Dhoni achieved this feat in his 301st ODI and in his 296th innings. Dhoni is third in the all-time list of dismissals with 383 hunts, behind Australian keeper Adam Gilchrist (472) and Sangakkara (483).

From Indian side most successful batsman were Virat Kohli 110 on 116 balls, Kedar Jadhav 63 on 73 balls, Manish Pandey 36 on 53 balls and Rohit Sharma 16 on 20 balls. And most successful baller from Sri Lankan side was Lasith Malinga 1/35, while Vishwa Fernando, Malinda Pushpakumara and Wanidu Hasaranga have taken one wicket each.

From Sri Lankan Side most successful batsman were Lahiru Thirimanne 67 on 102 balls, Angelo Mathews 55 on 98 balls, Upul Tharanga 48 on 34 balls and Milinda Siriwardana 18 on 13 balls. From Indian side most successful baller were Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/42 and Jasprit Bumrah 2/45, while Yuzvendra Chahal and Keldeep Yadav have taken one wicket.

In overall series it didn’t seem that they are challenging India. They already bestowed their knees on loosing series.

Leave a Reply